Sigel, Kansas
Located in the heart of the Wakarusa River Valley, the community of Sigel disappeared entirely with the construction of Clinton Lake. Sigel hosted the annual Harvest Home Picnic–a tradition that attracted the entire Wakarusa Valley–for nearly 40 years. Beginning in 1873, the picnic gathered crowds from across the region to celebrate with food, drink, contests, and performances. By 1908, thousands of people from Lawrence, Topeka, and the Wakarusa communities attended the picnic. However, when Douglas County residents decided to organize a county-wide fair, the picnic dwindled into a homecoming event for Sigel community members. Although the town of Sigel no longer exists, the tradition of the Harvest Home Picnic continues through the Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum. Today, the picnic serves as a means of gathering not only former Sigel residents, but people from across the Wakarusa River Valley whose communities now lie beneath the waves of Clinton Lake.
About this community
- Dam
- Clinton Dam
- River
- Wakarusa River
- Established
- 1854
- Inundated
- 1970
- Population
- 100
Archive artifacts
Photos
-
Photograph of Franz Sigel 1850Although originally named Yates Crossing, Civil War veterans renamed the town Sigel, after Major General Franz Sigel who served in the Union Army.Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum -
Sigel School 1850Despite its small size, Sigel School served as a gathering place for the entire community. In addition to regular school hours, the building also hosted several church congregations and a Sunday school. Sigel never acquired an official church, however, traveling evangelists often held special meetings in the schoolhouse for two or three weeks before moving to the next town.Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum -
Sigel Bridge 1974Sigel Bridge prior to US Army Corps of Engineers demolition, August 1974.Clarence Anderson · Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum -
Former location of Sigel Grove 1972Former location of Sigel Grove after US Army Corps of Engineers demolition on September 7, 1972. Sigel Bridge can be viewed in the background.Clarence Anderson · Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum -
Sigel Quilters 1950Sigel Quilters, a group of local women who carried on the customs of the Ladies Aid Society and the Sigel Home Demonstration Unit by gathering to make quilts. For nearly seventy years, The Ladies Aid Society met in the homes of Society members to make quilts, clothing, and other goods for neighboring communities. The Society also donated items to the America Red Cross, veterans’ hospitals, and local care homes. Additionally, members of the Society maintained the schoolhouse through donations and volunteered labor.Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum -
Sigel School amidst Clinton Lake construction 1975Sigel School amidst Clinton Lake construction, prior to demolition.Clarence Anderson · Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum
Sources
- Martha Parker and Betty Laird, Soil of Our Souls (1976).
- Harvest Home Picnic in Sigel Grove, ca. 1899 (Wakarusa River Valley Heritage Museum, 1981.16.1).